Dom Robert (1907-1997)

Dom Robert  is a pseudonym of Guy de Chaunac-Lanzac
Benedictine monk, tapestry-maker, painter and ceramicist.
Born on the 15 December 1907, at Nieuil-L'Espoir.

Dom Robert studied at the Jesuit College in Poitiers, before going on to the École nationale des arts décoratifs in Paris. He began his career by making cartoons for the Maison des soieries Ducharne in Paris.
His association with Jacques Maritain and Maxime Jacob resulted in his entering the Abbaye d'En-Calcat in 1930, where he also entered the priesthood in 1937. As a result of his meeting with Jean Lurçat in 1941, he created a number of tapestries with the atelier Tabard at Aubussson.
Leaving for Buckfast Abbey in England in 1948, he returned to the abbey of d'En Calcat in 1958, and from that time on his production of works of art was uninterrupted until his death, at the abbey,  in 1997.

On his way to the Abbey of Landevennec, Dom Robert,the artist-monk, met Marie-Anne Le Minor. She was already an admirer of his tapestry-cartoons which were then woven by the Manufacture d'Aubusson.  She asked for his permission to have them embroidered at Pont-l'Abbé, an offer which he politely declined. Marie-Anne dissatisfied with this outcome, decided to ask one of her staff to embroider one of Dom Robert's designs from a postcard.

She sent the artist the completed work. Moved by her determination, and even more by the result which imbued his design which such strength and relief, he finally agreed to allow the Maison LE MINOR to produce embroidered versions of all his cartoons. His embroidered tapestries are still created on-site in our Pont-L'Abbé workshops.

The French government has conferred the legal status of 'works of art' to the embroidered tapestries, and as such they are created in limited editions of eight examples per cartoon.

You will find a sample of a number of our tapestries on the next page of our website, dedicated to them, but we strongly recommend that you come and admire them in person in our workshops in Pont- l'Abbé where, since 1936,  the cartoons have been translated into tapestries by the extraordinary skill of our embroiderers.

BOUTIQUE LE MINOR

5 QUAI SAINT-LAURENT

29120 PONT L'ABBE

FRANCE

02.98.87.07.22

contact@leminor.com

FOLLOW US:

© 2020 LE MINOR

Dom Robert (1907-1997)

Dom Robert, nom de religieux de Guy de Chaunac-Lanzac, est né le 5 décembre 1907 à Nieuil-l'Espoir, est un moine bénédictin, peintre, et cartonnier de tapisserie français.

Dom Robert a étudié au collège des Jésuites de Poitiers, puis à l'École nationale des arts décoratifs de Paris. Il dessine d'abord des modèles pour la Maison de soieries Ducharne à Paris1.

Ses relations avec Jacques Maritain et Maxime Jacob le mènent à entrer, en 1930, à l'abbaye d'En-Calcat où il est ordonné prêtre en 19372. Sa rencontre en 1941 avec Jean Lurçat l'amène à créer des tapisseries avec l'atelier Tabard à Aubusson.

Parti en 1948 pour l'abbaye de Buckfast en Angleterre, il revient à l'abbaye d'En Calcat en 1958 et ne cesse plus de produire. Il y meurt le 10 mai 1997.

 Alors que le moine artiste Dom Robert était en chemin pour se rendre à l’Abbaye de Landevennec, il rencontra Marie-Anne Le Minor qui admirait déjà beaucoup ses tapisseries éditées par la Manufacture d’Aubusson. Elle lui demanda s’il l’autorisait à les faire broder à Pont-L’Abbé, une offre qu’il déclina gentiment.  Cette réponse ne satisfit pas Marie-Anne qui décida de demander à l’un des ses brodeurs de travailler à partir d’une carte postale d’une œuvre de Dom Robert.

Elle envoya à l’artiste l’ouvrage achevé. Ce dernier, ému par sa détermination et plus encore par le résultat qui donnait à son carton tant de relief et de force, autorisa finalement la maison LE MINOR à éditer des versions brodées de certains de ses cartons.  Ses tapisseries brodées sont toujours créées sur place dans nos ateliers de Pont-L’Abbé.

Le gouvernement français a conféré aux tapisseries brodées  le statut juridique d'une œuvre d'art et elles sont créées en série limitées à huit exemplaires de chaque carton.

Vous trouverez un échantillon de certaines de nos tapisseries sur la prochaine page de notre site qui leur sera dédiée mais nous vous encourageons à venir les admirer en personne dans nos ateliers de Pont-l'Abbé où elles ont vu le jour grâce à l'extraordinaire savoir-faire de nos brodeuses et brodeurs depuis 1936.

BOUTIQUE LE MINOR

5 QUAI SAINT-LAURENT

29120 PONT L'ABBE

FRANCE

02.98.87.07.22

contact@leminor.com

SUIVEZ-NOUS :

© 2020 LE MINOR