HISTORY

LA MAISON LE MINOR was founded in 1936 by Marie-Anne Le Minor

in Pont-l'Abbé, in the Pays Bigouden, in Brittany.

Having noted that the Breton and Bigouden costume was worn  increasingly rarely in the region, Marie-Anne Le Minor became concerned for the future of the distinctive and precious art of  Breton embroidery. She recruited a distinguished   embroiderer so as to perpetuate the tradition and offer embroidered articles for sale. In Brittany, embroidery was in fact the preserve of  men, who would travel from village to village and embroider waist-coats, jackets and costumes for their clients.

 

It should be borne in mind that the costumes of the Bigouden region were at the time richly and exquisitely embroidered, and indeed figured in the paintings and in particular  those of artists belonging to the School of Pont Aven such as Paul Gauguin (1848-1903), Paul Sérusier (1864-1927), Emile Bernard (1868-1941)et Maurice Denis (1870-1943). Artists belonging to the following generation, such as Mathurin Méheut (1882-1958), Lucien Simon (1861-1945), Jean-Julien Lemordant (1878-1968), also found inspiration in the Bigouden region.

With an abundant female work-force at hand in the region, Marie-Anne Le Minor decided to create jobs in a work-shop devoted to the creation of dolls' clothes. Before long she was employing twenty people, and the fast-growing renown of LE MINOR  dolls led her to the 1937 Exposition Universelle in Paris.

The writer Colette (1873-1954) of the Académie Goncourt, who became a close friend, composed the catalogues for the Maison LE MINOR, writing that Anne-Marie had become the "Great fashion  designer for  regional dolls".

This branch of her activity was hugely successful and the regional dolls with their embroidered costumes began to travel widely throughout France, and before long throughout the world, as collection pieces for such famous names as Colette, Général Eisenhower, Caroline Kennedy, prince Rainier de Monaco. Japan soon became one of  the Maison LE MINOR's most important markets, with such notable clients as Daimaru (Osaka), Fujita & Co Ltd (Tokyo), Mitsukoshi, Yamanaka Shoji, Sunray International Inc. (Kobe).

During World War II, there was a shortage of the celluloid required for the making of the bodies of the dolls, and the Maison LE MINOR underwent its first re-adaptation, converting back to embroidery - the heritage of the Bigouden region -  producing hand-embroidered table linen, carpets, religious garments, folklore costumes and bags. The first articles to be produced were therefore embroidered linen and costumes, and printed linen. 

In 1957, inspired by the garments worn by the nineteenth-century sea-weed gatherers - the goémoniers - LE MINOR  adapted the wool cloth to the creation of a new fashion, that of the Kabig, and the craze in the 1970s for this piece of clothing was to become one of the flagship items  of the LE MINOR firm.

Alongside this new expansion, Marie-Anne Le Minor endeavoured to develop and bring up to date a popular art-form rich in tradition, by calling on artists of the region, thus creating a unique range of table-linen, either printed or embroidered (by hand or with a hand-guided machine, the Cornely), highlighting the artists' and artisans' designs .

From the very foundation of the firm, Marie-Anne surrounded herself with artists of great renown. Thus it came about that Mathurin Méheut - whom she met while he was painting the fishermen and inhabitants of the Finistère - created for her the design of the ermine LE MINOR, a design which still graces the boxes and wrappings of our articles.

Many ageless designs, more than eighty years on, are still on the books of LEMINOR, such as for instance Mathurin Méheut's celebrated tablecloth design known as The Sea, which has been in uninterrupted production since 1942. The table-ware that accompanied it, created by the Faïencerie Henriot of which Méheut was the artistic director, can still be seen and admired in the Musée de la Faïence in Quimper. A native of Lamballe, Méheut lived principally in Paris when he was not travelling, and was acquainted with a great number of artists whom he presented to Marie-Anne when she was staying in Paris. This is how she met the writer Colette, with whom she formed a close friendship.

Service La Mer de Mathurin Méheut

Colette admired Marie-Anne Le Minor's creative energy, her boundless dynamism and her incredible spirit of enterprise. Health problems intervened and prevented Colette writing the book that Marie-Anne had commissioned from her on the art of embroidery but, on the other hand, she did write, and with her customary verve, a superb catalogue of the LE MINOR dolls with their dazzling embroidered costumes.

 

LE MINOR dolls proved to be such a success that they were sold in the Magasin Blancs in Paris and at Orly airport. In the 1960s, Air France even offered them to first class passengers.

Colette à sa table de travail au Palais Royal

As for the book entitled Broderies de Bretagne , it was published by Editions Le Minor in 1946, illustrated by Mathurin Méheut and its text was written by the writer Jean de la Varende (1887-1959). It was born from the will of Marie-Anne Le Minor who has collected decades of Breton costumes with exquisite colorful embroidery.

Another encounter led to the creation of another wing of production for LE MINOR.  When on his way to the Abbey of Landevennec, Dom Robert (the artist-monk) met Marie-Anne Le Minor. She was already an admirer of his tapestry-designs which were then woven  by the Manufacture d'Aubusson.  She asked for his permission to have them embroidered at Pont-l'Abbé, an offer which he politely declined. Marie-Anne was dissatisfied with this outcome, and she decided to ask one of her  staff to embroider one of Dom Robert's designs from a postcard.

She sent the artist the completed work. Moved by her determination, and even more by the result which imbued his design which such strength and relief, he finally agreed to allow the Maison LE MINOR to produce embroidered versions of all his cartoons. His embroidered tapestries are still created on-site in our Pont-L'Abbé workshops.

The tapestries and the embroidered and printed table-linen were becoming a reference [point] for Brittany's heritage. For many lovers of art and culture, a visit to Le Minor is a sacred rendez-vous of the holidays. / This was the case for instance for Georges and Claude Pompidou who, as neighbours, were both clients and devotees.

Pierre Toulhoat (1923-2014), the immensely talented Breton artist, also created for LE MINOR a large number of cartoons for embroidered tapestries and a wealth of drawings and sketches for house-linen, printed and embroidered, as well as a collection of jewellery in gold and silver inspired by the landscape and legends of Brittany.

Thus, over the years, the Maison LE MINOR has enriched its collection of pencil preparatory drawings, gouaches, patterns of all sizes.

Marie-Anne's sons, Jacques and Jean Le Minor, followed by her grand-son Gildas, continued unceasingly, and with the same creative energy and talent of their respective mother and grand-mother, putting the emphasis on the exceptional savoir-faire  and the tradition of quality and openness   which  were always the trade-mark of the Maison LE MINOR. Jacques and Jean developed the embroidered tapestry side of the business, and Gildas that of  religious banners.

From these works still derive many LE MINOR contemporary creations, and it is these which give them their distinctive character, at one and the same time profoundly anchored in the Bigouden region, and more broadly in Brittany, yet with a timeless and universal appeal. The artistic heritage and tradition of LE MINOR lives on, and we are proud of the fruitful collaborations we are developing with talented contemporary artists both from Brittany and beyond. 

In March 2019, Dr Thierry Morel, an art historian and curator acquired the Maison LE MINOR in order to perpetuate this invaluable savoir-faire and develop the breadth of its artistic creativity for the years to come.

BOUTIQUE LE MINOR

5 QUAI SAINT-LAURENT

29120 PONT L'ABBE

FRANCE

02.98.87.07.22

contact@leminor.com

FOLLOW US:

© 2020 LE MINOR

HISTORIQUE

LA MAISON LE MINOR a été fondée en 1936 par Marie-Anne Le Minor

à Pont-l’Abbé,  dans le Pays Bigouden, en Bretagne.

C'est en constatant que les costumes étaient de moins en moins portés en pays Bigouden, que Marie-Anne Le Minor s’inquiéta du devenir de l’art si particulier de la broderie bretonne. Elle recruta un brodeur émérite afin d’en perpétuer la tradition et offrir des articles brodés à la vente. En Bretagne, la broderie était en effet alors souvent l’apanage des hommes qui allaient de village en village broder des vestes, gilets et costumes pour leurs commanditaires.   

Il faut se rappeler que les costumes brodés du Pays Bigouden étaient alors d’une richesse et raffinement extrême tant et si bien qu’ils furent représentés par de nombreux peintres notamment ceux de l’Ecole de Pont Aven tels que Paul Gauguin (1848-1903), Paul Sérusier (1864-1927), Emile Bernard (1868-1941)et Maurice Denis (1870-1943). Une génération successive d’artistes trouva son inspiration dans le Pays Bigouden tels que Mathurin Méheut (1882-1958), Lucien Simon (1861-1945), Jean-Julien Lemordant (1878-1968).  

Entourée d’une main-d’œuvre féminine abondante dans le Pays Bigouden, elle décida de créer des emplois dans un atelier d’habits de poupées. Bien vite elle employa 20 personnes, et la renommée rapidement grandissante des poupées LE MINOR la conduisit à l’Exposition Universelle de 1937 à Paris.

 

L’écrivain Colette (1873-1954) de l’Académie Goncourt dont elle devint une amie écrivit les catalogues pour la maison LE MINOR et dit de Marie-Anne qu’elle était devenue : « Le grand couturier des poupées de terroirs. »

Cette branche d’activité connut un grand succès et les poupées régionales aux costumes brodés commencèrent à voyager dans tous les coins de France, et bientôt du monde, avec bien des acquéreurs ou collectionneurs célèbres, à commencer par Colette, le Général Eisenhower, Caroline Kennedy, le prince Rainier de Monaco. Le Japon devint vite l’un des marchés les plus importants notamment auprès des maisons : Daimaru (Osaka), Fujita & Co Ltd (Tokyo), Mitsukoshi, Yamanaka Shoji, Sunray International Inc. (Kobe).

Durant la Seconde Guerre Mondiale, le celluloïd nécessaire à la fabrication du corps des poupées vint à manquer et la Maison LE MINOR entreprit une première reconversion en faveur de la broderie, patrimoine du Pays Bigouden, broderie à la main de linge de table, de tapis, de tissus d’ornements religieux, de sacs et de costumes folkloriques. Les premières productions de la Maison LE MINOR se composèrent ainsi de linge et costumes brodés, et de linge de maison imprimés.

En 1957, s’inspirant des vêtements des goémoniers du XIXème siècle, LE MINOR adapta le tissu de drap de laine a une nouvelle mode, celle du Kabig, et l’engouement des années 1970 pour ce vêtement fut l’un des articles phare de l’histoire de la société LE MINOR.

Parallèlement à ce nouvel essor, Marie-Anne Le Minor s’efforça de développer et d’actualiser un art populaire riche de tradition en faisant appel aux artistes de la région, elle fit naître un linge de table unique, imprime ou brodé à la main ou à la machine guidée-main (Cornely), mettant en valeur les dessins des artistes et des artisans.

Dès la fondation de l’entreprise, Marie-Anne n’eut de cesse de s’entourer d’artistes de grand renom. Ainsi Mathurin Méheut qu’elle rencontra alors qu’il peignait les pêcheurs et habitants du Finistère, créa pour elle le dessin de l’hermine LE MINOR qu’arborent toujours les boîtes, coffrets et emballages de nos articles.  

Certains motifs après plus de 80 ans demeurent intemporels et sont toujours édités par la maison LE MINOR, ainsi le célèbre motif de la nappe intitulée La Mer que Mathurin Méheut dessina est confectionné sans interruption depuis 1942. La vaisselle qui l’accompagnait et fut créée pour la Faïencerie Henriot dont il était le directeur artistique et peut encore être admirée au Musée de la Faïence de Quimper. Méheut quoique originaire de Lamballe résidait  principalement à Paris lorsqu’il n’était pas en voyage et connaissait grand nombre d’artistes qu’il présenta à Marie-Anne lors de ses séjours parisiens. C’est ainsi qu’elle avait fait la connaissance de l’écrivain Colette, avec laquelle elle noua une profonde amitié.

Service La Mer de Mathurin Méheut

Colette fut admirative de l’énergie créatrice de Marie-Anne Le Minor et de son dynamisme sans bornes et de son incroyable esprit d’entreprise. Pour des raisons de santé, Colette ne put produire le livre que Marie-Anne lui avait commandé sur l’art de la broderie mais, en revanche, elle rédigea avec sa verve familière un superbe catalogue des poupées LE MINOR aux superbes costumes brodés.

 

Les poupées LE MINOR connurent un tel succès qu’elles étaient même vendues aux Magasin Blancs à Paris et à l’aéroport d’Orly. Dans les années 60, la compagnie aérienne Air France les offrait même aux passagers de première classe.

Colette à sa table de travail au Palais Royal

Quant au livre intitulé Broderies de Bretagne, il fut édité par les Editions Le Minor en 1946, illustré par Mathurin Méheut et son texte fut rédigé par l’écrivain Jean de la Varende (1887-1959). Il est né de la volonté de Marie-Anne Le Minor qui a collectionné des décennies durant des costumes bretons aux exquises broderies chamarrées.

D’une autre rencontre naquit un autre pan de production de la Maison LE MINOR: Alors que le moine artiste Dom Robert était en chemin pour se rendre à l’Abbaye de Landevennec, il rencontra Marie-Anne Le Minor qui admirait déjà beaucoup ses tapisseries éditées par la Manufacture d’Aubusson. Elle lui demanda s’il l’autorisait à les faire broder à Pont-L’Abbé, une offre qu’il déclina gentiment.  Cette réponse ne satisfit pas Marie-Anne qui décida de demander à l’un des ses brodeurs de travailler à partir d’une carte postale d’une œuvre de Dom Robert.

Elle envoya à l’artiste l’ouvrage achevé. Ce dernier, ému par sa détermination et plus encore par le résultat qui donnait à son carton tant de relief et de force, autorisa finalement la maison LE MINOR à éditer des versions brodées de tous ses cartons.  Ses tapisseries brodées sont toujours créées sur place dans nos ateliers de Pont-L’Abbé.

Les tapisseries et le linge de maison brodé et imprimé commencèrent à devenir une référence patrimoniale en Bretagne. Pour bien des amateurs d'art et de culture, une visite chez Le Minor est un rendez-vous sacré lors des vacances c'était le cas pour Georges et Claude Pompidou par exemple qui, en voisins, devinrent de fidèles amateurs et clients.

Pierre Toulhoat (1923-2014), artiste breton immensément talentueux, créa lui aussi pour LE MINOR un grand nombre de cartons, pour des tapisseries brodées et une pléiade de dessins et d’esquisses pour du linge de maison imprimé et brodé ainsi qu’une collection de bijoux d’or et d’argent inspirés des terres et légendes bretonnes.

Ainsi, au fil des décennies, la Maison LE MINOR enrichit son fonds de quantités de dessins préparatoires au crayon, de gouaches, de poncifs de tous formats.

Les fils de Marie-Anne , Jacques et Jean Le Minor, suivis ensuite de son petit-fils Gildas  poursuivirent sans relâche et avec autant de talent que de créativité l’œuvre de leur grand-mère mettant l’accent sur le savoir-faire exceptionnel et la tradition de qualité et d’accueil qui ont toujours fait la réputation de la Maison LE MINOR. Jacques et Jean ont développé les tapisseries brodées et Gildas les bannières d’églises et de pardons.

De ces œuvres dérivent encore bien des créations LE MINOR contemporaines qui leur confèrent leur caractère si distinctif, à la fois profondément bigouden et breton mais à l’attrait indémodable et universel. La tradition artistique de LE MINOR perdure aujourd’hui et nous sommes fiers des fructueuses collaborations que nous développons avec de talentueux artistes contemporains de Bretagne et d’ailleurs.

BOUTIQUE LE MINOR

5 QUAI SAINT-LAURENT

29120 PONT L'ABBE

FRANCE

02.98.87.07.22

contact@leminor.com

SUIVEZ-NOUS :

© 2020 LE MINOR