CHRISTELLE LE DEAN

Born on the Côte d'Amour, Christelle Le Dean has retained the energy of her birth-place: the winter storms, fiery August sunshine, the taste for 'elsewhere'  and the eclecticism of the architectural phantasies characteristic of the villas built on this coast-line, with their pagodas, Moorish  or 'Gothic' follies, all of which have fed her imaginary world and her romanesque, and timeless, sensibility.

And she always returns to the Atlantic coast, to Brittany, for the Maison Le Minor, for which she designs an embroidered cloth for pea coats, the image of a resplendent local collective memory. Her creative imagination ranges from polychrome tartans to the Bigouden symbols, not forgetting marine fauna and plant phantasmagoria. And always the sea air. In the Landes, for La Chaiserie Landaise, she designs collections in which she questions the 'craft' of furniture-making through the use of precious woods for household  objects. Wherever she is in the world, this designer is at home with the craftsmen and their different skills: in Cairo, where she runs work-shops in the historic Mamelouk quarter, in Göteborg where she is awarded First Prize for a carpet at the Kashtall France competition.

As for Paris, after qualifying from the ENSAD, with three fellow-designers she founds 'Robert le Héros', a textile design agency which in the mid-1990s scoops up prizes and awards. A year after its founding, 'Robert le Héros' is voted Designer of the Year. Her colourful idiom joyously unfurls in her interiors and in magazines. Thirty years later her creations are to be found in museums, in the Piscine de Roubaix for instance, or in the contemporary collection of the MISE in Mulhouse.

Christelle Le Dean, continues her  journey... Photographer, chief editor of 'Recup', a visionary magazine which before the year 2000 is already promoting committed recycling, cultural cross-disciplinarity and hybridisation. Along the way, she is picked out by the Maison Française as one of the fifty most influential designers, she collaborates with Michelin on the redesigning of their celebrated Green Guide, creates colourful narratives for different beauty products for the Shiseido group. A number of galleries have given her carte-blanche, most recently  Nobilis who  has enabled  her to exhibit the ensemble of her textile designs, seats and furniture in Saint-Germain-des-Près.

On the initiative of the VIA, and with Louis design Paris, she designs a furniture collection, freely adapting traditional furniture, for a group of companies of the Grand Ouest. Since 2014, she has been teaching textile design in Mulhouse, at the École des Arts du Rhin:  hear.fr

Christelle Le Dean is a woman  who loves  challenges and boldness, so long as they speak of colour and imagination, design and innovation, journeys and sensations. The horizon is her life-line, and the ocean, the open sea,  the eternal source of her inspiration.

BOUTIQUE LE MINOR

5 QUAI SAINT-LAURENT

29120 PONT L'ABBE

FRANCE

02.98.87.07.22

contact@leminor.com

FOLLOW US:

© 2020 LE MINOR

CHRISTELLE LE DEAN

De La Côte D’amour, où elle vit le jour, Christelle Le Déan a gardé l’énergie des tempêtes d'hiver et des grands soleils d’août, le goût de l’éclectisme et de l’ailleurs. La fantaisie architecturale des villégiatures du bord de l’océan, pagodes, mauresques ou folies gothiques façonnent son imaginaire et sa sensibilité romanesque en marge du temps. 

Et elle revient toujours au bord de l’Altlantique, en Bretagne pour les tissus Le Minor.  Elle  imagine des broderies sur  des draps de cabans à l’effigie d’une mémoire collective flamboyante. Son imagination voyage du tartan polychrome au symbole bigouden, en passant par la faune marine et la flore au végétal fantastique. Toujours l’air marin …Dans les Landes, pour La Chaiserie Landaise, la designer développe des collections ou elle interroge « le métier » à travers des assemblages vernaculaires de bois nobles. Autour du monde, des artisans et des savoir-faire, cette designer se sent chez elle. Au Caire où elle anime des worshops  dans le quartier historique mamelouk, à Göteborg où elle reçoit le premier prix du concours Kashtall France pour un tapis.

Quant à Paris, elle y fonde avec trois autres designers au sortir de l’ENSAD, Robert Le Héros, une agence de design textile qui au mitan des années 90 rafle prix et distinctions. Un an après sa formation, Robert Le héros est élu Designers de l’année. Son écriture narrative joyeuse et colorée déferle dans les intérieurs et les magazines. Trente ans plus tard, il est au musée, à la Piscine de Roubaix, ou dans les collections contemporaines du MISE à Mulhouse.

 

Sa fondatrice, elle, continue son chemin. Photographe, rédactrice en chef de Récup, un magazine visionnaire qui avant l’an 2000 prône le recyclage engagé, la transversalité et l’Hybridation culturelle. Au passage, elle est remarquée par Maison française, comme l'une des cinquante designers les plus influentes, collabore avec Michelin pour le redéploiement de son célèbre Guide vert, invente des récits en couleur pour différentes marques de beauté du groupe Shiseido . De nombreuses galeries lui ont offert des cartes blanches, la dernière en date, Nobilis lui a permis de présenter l’ensemble de ses collections textiles, de sièges et mobilier à Saint-Germain-des -Près.


A l’initiative du VIA, avec Louis design Paris, elle dessine une collection de meubles qui retranscrit librement le mobilier historique pour un collectif d’entreprise du Grand Ouest, elle s’envole pour la Chine. Depuis 2014, elle enseigne à Mulhouse le design textile, à l’école des Arts du Rhin. hear.fr

 

Christelle Le Déan est une femme de défis et d’audaces pourvu qu’ils parlent de couleur et d’imagination, de design et d’innovations, de voyages et de sensations. L’horizon est sa ligne de vie, le grand large la source éternelle de son inspiration.

BOUTIQUE LE MINOR

5 QUAI SAINT-LAURENT

29120 PONT L'ABBE

FRANCE

02.98.87.07.22

contact@leminor.com

SUIVEZ-NOUS :

© 2020 LE MINOR