Mathurin Méheut (1882-1958)

Mathurin Méheut was born into a family of craftsmen. In1896, in Lamballe, he was apprenticed to Mathurin  Guernion, a house painter; his earliest dated drawings are from this period. In 1898 he entered the Ecole Régionale des Beaux-Arts in Rennes  (Ille-et-Vilaine), In 1902, having completed his studies in Rennes, he settled in Paris, working on the magazine 'Art & Decoration',  and his illustrations of fish and corals are published. At the same time he enrolled at the École Nationale Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs in Paris.

In 1905 he wed Marguerite Rouja at Le Mans, and the couple settled in Paris in the 15th arrondissement , 45 rue Falguière.
Between 1910 and 1912, he lived and worked at the Biological Station of Roscoff where he was able to study and draw the marine environment in a scientific context.  It is there that the foundations were laid  for his book Etude de la mer 1913-1914 edited by  Maurice Pillard (known as Verneuil).
In 1913, an exhibition mounted in the Musée des Arts Décoratifs in Paris brought together 450 of the works he had created in Roscoff, representing marine fauna and flora, and the magazine 'L'Illustration ' published several of these works in colour. At this point, the Oceanographic Museum of Monaco and the Musée du Luxembourg in Paris acquire a number of his works.

Mathurin Méheut was awarded the "Round the World Scholarship" by the Albert-Kahn Foundation. He was thus able to travel to Hawaii, and then to Japan where his stay was interrupted by the outbreak of World War I. He returned to France and in October joined  the 136th Arras infantry regiment; between 1916 and 1917 he was on detachment to the topographic and mapping service in Sainte-Menehould and then at Bergues. He made a series of war-sketches documenting life in the trenches, and was demobilised in 1919, returning to his teaching position at the École Boulle in Paris, where he would remain until 1928, apart from a short spell teaching at the École Estienne, also in Paris.

After the Armistice, he returned to his native Brittany and worked as an illustrator and decorator. Having become the official painter for the Navy in 1921, Meheut's greatly diversified his activities: between 1924 and 1935 he participated in the decoration of nine ocean liners, including the Normandie. He also illustrated books, and collaborated as a ceramicist to the Henriot pottery in Quimper.
In 1926 he joined the society of artist decorators, and in 1927 produced his first ceramics for the Manufacture nationale de Sèvres.  
Witness to an era, passionate about the inhabitants and landscapes of his native province, he criss-crossed Brittany from Rennes to Dinan, from Roscoff to Saint-Guénolé in Bigouden country, leaving behind him a  profuse production of works and a detailed  and  varied testimony of the Breton life of his times. Between 1940 and 1944 he taught at the the École des Beaux-Arts in Rennes.

In November 1942, having come to the Bigouden to spend a few days with his friend the writer Auguste Dupouy, on the evening of his departure he arrived in Pont-L'Abbé after the curfew, too late for the Hôtel des Voyageurs where he had intended staying the night. Glimpsing a ray of light from the house across the street ( the Maison Le Minor) he decided to try his luck, and knocked on the door of the Le Minor family, who immediately and spontaneously offered him their hospitality.
It was  not long before Méheut became part of the household. A correspondence began between the two which would only end with the painter's death. He produced a quantity of sketches which were to give birth to the historic logo of the Maison LE MINOR, featuring the ermine. In November 1948, Méheut and Jean Le Minor - one of Marie-Anne's sons who was then a student in Paris - together took care of the installation of the display in the windows of the Grande Maison du Blanc, which were dedicated that Christmas to articles designed and produced by Maison LE MINOR.

The first project which Mathurin Méheut and Marie-Anne Le Minor developed together, was the publication of a major work on the embroidery and embroiderers of the Bigouden. Colette was approached by her friend Méheut to write the text ; and it is after this that she would  become Marie-Anne's close friend. Her deteriorating health prevented her from fulfilling this commitment. Two works on the subject of the embroidery appeared in the post-war years, and they were illustrated by Méheut.

Following this , the artist designed the decoration of the boxes which held the LE MINOR dolls, as well as the table-linen La Mer, the printed pendant to the table-ware bearing the same name, designed by Méheut for the Henriot pottery in Quimper. Some sixty years after its conception, it is still produced, in two different colours, and is still one of the jewels  of the LE MINOR  collections.
As a result of his frequent visits to the LE MINOR workshops, Méheut left behind a great number of sketches, water-colours and drawings of the embroiderers, the employees, the workshops and the LE MINOR boutique, which is still appointed with its original Breton oak furniture.
Mathurin Méheut was elected to the Académie de Marine in 1956, and died in Paris on 22 February 1958. He is buried in  Paris, in Montparnasse cemetery. He left an indelible stamp on the history and artistic development of the Maison LE MINOR.

A Mathurin Méheut museum has been  created in his native town, in one of the 15th century half-timbered houses, with roughly 5000 of his works .*

*We are immensely grateful to Armel Morgant for his extensive research on the Maison LE MINOR, on which this article is largely based. See LE MINOR publications....

 

BOUTIQUE LE MINOR

5 QUAI SAINT-LAURENT

29120 PONT L'ABBE

FRANCE

02.98.87.07.22

contact@leminor.com

FOLLOW US:

© 2020 LE MINOR

Mathurin Méheut (1882-1958)

Mathurin Méheut naît dans une famille d'artisans. En 1896, il entre en apprentissage à Lamballe chez Mathurin Guernion, peintre en bâtiment ; de là sont connus ses premiers dessins datés. Il entre à l'Ecole Régionale des Beaux-Arts de Rennes  (Ille-et-Vilaine) en 1898 et séjourne pendant un mois à Paris en 1900. En 1902, à la fin de ses études à Rennes, il s'installe à Paris. Il travaille à la revue Art & Décoration  et publie des illustrations sur les poissons et les coraux. Parallèlement, il s'inscrit à L’Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs à Paris. Il effectue son service militaire de 1903 à 1904 à Saint-Lo.

En 1905, il épouse Marguerite Rouja au Mans. Le couple se fixe à Paris dans le 15e arrondissement, au no 45 rue Falguière.  

De 1910 à 1912, il séjourne et travaille à la Station Biologique de Roscoff, où il peut observer et dessiner le milieu marin dans un contexte scientifique. C'est là qu'il crée les bases de l'ouvrage Étude de la mer 1913-1914 sous la direction de Maurice Pillard (dit Verneuil). Une exposition qui lui est consacrée au musée des Arts Décoratifs de Paris en 1913 réunit 450 œuvres sur la faune et la flore marine réalisées à Roscoff. La revue L’Illustration publie plusieurs de ses tableaux en couleur2. Le musée Océanographique de Monaco et le musée de Luxembourg à Paris acquièrent certaines de ses œuvres.

Mathurin Méheut est lauréat de la « Bourse autour du monde » attribuée par la Fondation Albert-Kahn. Il peut ainsi voyager à Hawaï puis au Japon où le séjour est interrompu par la mobilisation due à la Première Guerre Mondiale. Méheut rentre en France et est incorporé en octobre au 136e régiment d'infanterie d’Arras, puis de 1916 a 1917 il est détaché au service topographique et cartographique à Sainte-Menehould  puis à Bergues. Il y réalise ses Croquis de guerre témoignant de la vie dans les tranchées. Il est démobilisé en 1919.  Méheut reprend son poste de professeur à l’Ecole Boulle à Paris jusqu'en 1928 après avoir brièvement enseigné à l’Ecole Estienne à Paris en 1921.

Après l'armistice, il revient dans sa Bretagne  natale et exerce les métiers de décorateur et d'illustrateur. Devenu peintre official de la Marine en 1921, Méheut fait preuve d'une activité diversifiée : entre 1924 et 1935, il participe à la décoration de neuf paquebots dont le Normandie. Il est aussi illustrateur de livres, collabore comme céramiste pour la faïencerie Henriot a Quimper

En 1926  il adhère à la société des artistes décorateurs et réalise ses premières céramiques pour la Manufacture nationale de Sèvres en 1927.  

Témoin d'une époque, passionné par les hommes et les paysages de sa province natale, il sillonne la Bretagne de Rennes a Dinan, de Roscoff a Saint-Guénolé en pays Bigouden, laissant une abondante production et un témoignage précis et multiforme de la vie bretonne à son époque. Il enseigne de 1940 a 1944 a l’Ecole des Beaux-Arts de Rennes. 

En novembre 1942 alors qu’il était venu passer quelques jours en pays Bigouden chez son ami l’écrivain Auguste Dupouy, le soir de son départ, arrive trop tardivement a Pont-l’Abbé, après le couvre feu, il trouve porte close a l’Hôtel des Voyageurs dans lequel il comptait passer la nuit. Apercevant un rai de lumière dans la maison d’en face (La Maison LE MINOR), il tente sa chance, frappe à la porte de la famille Le Minor qui lui offre spontanément l’hospitalité.

Méheut ne va pas tarder à devenir un habitué de la maison. Une correspondance s’ébauche, qui ne cessera qu’a la mort du peintre. Il produisit de nombreux croquis qui ont donne naissance au logo historique de la marque à l’hermine, LE MINOR. En novembre 1948, Méheut et Jean Le Minor, l’un des fils de Marie-Anne, alors étudiant à Paris, veilleront ensemble à la bonne mise en place des vitrines de la Grande Maison du Blanc dédiées à la période de Noël aux produits LE MINOR.

Le premier projet que Mathurin Méheut et Marie-Anne Le Minor élaborèrent concernait l’édition d’un grand ouvrage sur la broderie et les brodeurs en Pays Bigouden. Colette, sollicitée pour en écrire le texte par son ami Méheut et –qui devient par la suite l’amie de Marie-Anne– Elle dut finalement y renoncer en raison de sa santé déclinante.

Deux ouvrages sur le sujet de la broderie paraîtront après la guerre et furent illustrés par Méheut.

 L’artiste dessinera ensuite le décor des boites de poupées LE MINOR ainsi que le service de table La Mer, le pendant en tissu imprimé du service du même nom conçu par Méheut pour la faïencerie Henriot de Quimper. Quelques soixante ans après sa conception, celui-ci continue à être produit, en deux tons, et est toujours l’un des fleuron de la maison.

A la suite de sa fréquentation abondante des Ateliers LE MINOR, Méheut laissa de nombreux croquis, des aquarelles, des dessins représentent les brodeurs, les employés, les ateliers et la boutique LE MINOR laquelle a conservé son mobilier breton en chêne d’origine.

Mathurin Méheut est élu à l'Académie de marine en en 1956 et meurt à Paris le 22 février 1958.  Il est inhumé à Paris au cimetière du Montparnasse. Il a laissé une empreinte indélébile dans l’histoire et le développement artistique de la maison LE MINOR,

 

Un musée Mathurin Méheut est créé  dans la ville qui l'a vu naître, à l'intérieur d'une maison à pans de bois du XVème siècle. Ce musée conserve environ cinq mille de ses œuvres.*

 

* Nous remercions Armel Morgant pour son important travail de recherche sur la maison Le Minor dont cet article est très largement extrait. Voir LE MINOR, editions…

BOUTIQUE LE MINOR

5 QUAI SAINT-LAURENT

29120 PONT L'ABBE

FRANCE

02.98.87.07.22

contact@leminor.com

SUIVEZ-NOUS :

© 2020 LE MINOR